+43 6477/8224-0
 
 
 
 

Stöcklalm (1.755m) - Gontal – Muhr

Alpine Pleasure

Mountain hut experience „Holz kliabn – wood chopping“: That farmer’s got it good, because he has enough wood outside the hut”, is a popular saying in Lungau.

Wood stacked outside the hut, browned from the sun, nicely sized and oven dry is the promise of a good life and the comfort of a crackling fire in the oven. The knack of splitting and quartering wood with an axe can be discovered at the Stöcklalm, as well as the art of stacking it properly. Those interested can try it out for themselves. The hut landlords will also tell you about what else chopped logs are useful for and why they are absolutely indispensable.

Stöcklalm Alpine Pleasure
The wood used for baking bread is carefully selected and counted exactly. The Stöcklalm hut owners take this very seriously, because deliciously juicy homemade bread requires carefully selected and correctly chopped wood. Homemade bread served with various types of cheese is the Stöcklalm speciality.
Opening times: Mid June to mid September

How to get to the Stöcklalm

The hike to Stöcklalm (1,755 m) starts from the car park behind the Gasthof
Bacher am Katschberg. First of all, you walk along a level path to the Pritz Hut and
then on to „Haus Almfried“. The trail leads first uphill, then downhill to the „Doktoralm“ and on to the „Wengeralm“. From here the trail is a little “rocky”. The walk up to the Stöcklalm takes ca. 2.5 hours. Another route to the Stöcklalm is possible from Muhr nature Park Community. The walk from Schellgaden car park takes 2.0 hours. It is also a popular mountain bike route.

Level of difficulty: moderate
Duration: ca. 2.5 hours
 
 
 
Back to list

+43 6477/8224-0
 
 
 
 

Stöcklalm (1.755m) - Gontal - Muhr

Hüttenerlebnis „Holz kliabn“: Dem Bauern geht ́s guat, der hat gnua Holz vor da Hüttn. – Das war auch im Lungau ein beliebter Spruch.
Holz vor der Hütte, von der Sonne gebräunt, schön geschlichtet und ofentrocken, das verspricht ein gutes Leben und die Gemütlichkeit eines knisternden Herdfeuers. Vom Holzspalten und Vierteln mit der Axt, aber auch von der Kunst des Aufschlichtens erfährt man Näheres auf der Stöcklalm. Wer will, darf es auch selber ausprobieren. Was man sonst noch alles mit Holzscheitern anfangen kann und wofür sie unentbehrlich sind, davon erzählen die Hüttenleut ́.

Almgenuss Stöcklalm
Sorgfältig ausgesucht und genau abgezählt werden die Holzscheiter zum Brotbacken. Die Hüttenleut ́ auf der Stöcklalm nehmen es genau damit, denn herzhaft saftiges Hausbrot setzt auch gut ausgesuchtes und richtig gehacktes Holz voraus. Selbstgebackenes Hausbrot mit verschiedenen Käsesorten belegt, das ist die Spezialität auf der Stöcklalm.
Bewirtschaftungszeitraum: Mitte Juni bis Mitte September

So erreichen Sie die Stöcklalm
Die Wanderung zur Stöcklalm (1.755 m) startet vom Parkplatz hinter dem Gasthof Bacher am Katschberg. Zunächst wandert man auf ebenem Almweg zur Pritzhütte und weiter bis zum „Haus Almfried“. Von dort zuerst ansteigend, dann bergab zur „Doktoralm“ und weiter zur „Wengeralm“. Ab dort ist der Wandersteig etwas „steinig“. Die Gehzeit bis zur Stöcklalm beträgt ca. 2,5 Stunden. Eine Wanderung zur Stöcklalm ist auch von der Nationalparkgemeinde Muhr aus möglich. Die Gehzeit vom Parkplatz Schellgaden beträgt 2,0 Stunden. Dies ist auch eine beliebte Mountainbikestrecke.

Schwierigkeit:
mittel
Gehzeit: ca. 2.5 Stunden
 
 
 
Zurück zur Liste
 
 
 
 
 
Jetzt anmelden