+43 6477/8224-0
 
 
 
 

Wirpitschsee, Tiefenbachsee (1.699m, 1.846m) – Weißpriachtal

The Friml Spirit

The upper Weißpriachtal Valley splits into two arms at the foot of the Teufelskirche – Devil’s Church. The right leads to Znachtal Valley and the left takes you to the Ober Hut and Wirpitschsee Lake.
Vibrant larch trees in the autumn sunlight
Autumn tours of the mountains promise an unforgettable display of colour: golden sunshine, blue skies and larch trees resplendent in oranges, yellows and greens. Memorable moments are guaranteed. The
sparkling blue waters of the Wirpitsch and Tiefenbach lakes below the Tauernhöhe, larches and defiant pine trees, along with the crumbling walls of abandoned mountain huts, take the romance of this mountain
setting to even greater heights and turn it into a picture book landscape filled with lasting memories.

The starting point for this walk is the turn off for the Znachtal car park in the upper Weißpriachtal Valley, easily accessible either by car or the valley bus service. The walk leads along a gravel trail past the Grangler Hut (1,320m) until it forks at the „Uln Hut“. Follow the trail to the left behind the hut, where you will pass a roaring waterfall and cross the Longa. After ca. 200 m, there is a marked hiking trail to the left which leads to the serviced Tonimörtl Hut. Once at the hut, walk straight ahead before turning right at Wirpitschsee Lake (1,699 m). After an ascent of around 150 metres along an unmarked, but well trodden trail, you will reach the Tiefenbachsee Lake at 1,846 metres above sea level.

Level of difficulty: moderate
Duration: ca. 2.0 hours from Tiefenbachsee Lake
 
 
Wirpitschsee, Tiefenbachsee (1.699m, 1.846m) – Weißpriachtal
 
Wirpitschsee, Tiefenbachsee (1.699m, 1.846m) – Weißpriachtal
 
 
Before the fork in the trail is reached, you will meet a very tight and steep section: the
Lahntörl. An area that used to be severely threatened by avalanches and rock fall and has always been considered to be rather creepy. The lower Frimlalm is not far from here and on the way you will see a rock where, with a little imagination, you can recognize the outline of some claws and a face.

The following event is said to have occurred here: It was Christmas Eve and a farmhand from the Frimlbauer Farm was making a long trek out to an alpine hut, in order to fetch back the lid of a butter churn that
had been forgotten. In local dialect, the object is known as a Riakiwebai. In midwinter, especially, a solitary traveller must always expect strange encounters, for these nights are, after all, the domain of demons and spirits. The lad believed none of this. However, he did begin to get a few butterflies in his stomach as he heard a strange call coming from a rocky mountainside: Attack, attack, don’t you see the red-haired man? Equally uncanny came the response: I can’t get to him, he is led by that four-legged biter! Now the lad did indeed have his brave dog, Vieräugl, at his side. When he tied him to the fence of the hut in order to retrieve the Riakiwebai from within, the poor animal began to whimper quite pitifully. When he returned from the hut, he couldn’t have been more taken aback, for standing there before him were two tethered dogs, identical in every way. One of the animals seemed like a kind creature to him, with its tail wagging back and forth, so the farmhand went ahead and released him. But that was the wrong decision. Next to a boulder appeared a black dwarf, who placed his cold, clawed hand on the lad’s shoulder and whispered: Whatsoever this day delivers to me, shall belong to me for all eternity! Thus began a struggle for life and death, and the boy would certainly have been lost if it were not for the fact that his brave companion, Vieräugl, had torn himself loose in order to aid his master. Suddenly, the black dwarf disappeared like a ghost in the night. But how thoroughly did this night change the young man! The next morning, when he stepped into the farmhouse at the Frimlbauer Farm, the young farmhand had been transformed into an old man with grey hair.
 
 
 
Wirpitschsee, Tiefenbachsee (1.699m, 1.846m) – Weißpriachtal
 
Wirpitschsee, Tiefenbachsee (1.699m, 1.846m) – Weißpriachtal
 
Back to list

+43 6477/8224-0
Eggerwirt Journal
 
 
 
 

Wirpitschsee, Tiefenbachsee (1.699m, 1.846m) – Weißpriachtal

Der Frimlgeist

Am Fuß der Teufelskirche teilt sich das hintere Weißpriachtal in zwei Arme. Rechts geht es ins Znachtal, links Richtung Oberhütte und Wirpitschsee.
Leuchtende Lärchen im Herbst
Manche Bergtouren bieten im Herbst ein Farbenspiel aus goldenem Licht, blauen Himmel und den orange gelb grün leuchtenden Lärchen, das unvergessliche Erlebnisse beschert. Auch der Wirpitsch- und Tiefenbachsee unter der Tauernhöhe, wo die Mauerreste der verlassenen Almhütten die Romantik dieser Berglandschaft noch steigern, wird mit seinem Bestand an Lärchen und trutzigen Zirben zwischen blau funkelnden Seen im Herbst zu einer Bilderbuchlandschaft voll mit unvergesslichen Augenblicken.

Ausgangspunkt ist der Parkplatz Abzweigung Znachtal im hinteren Weißpriachtal, welcher mit dem Auto oder Tälerbus gut erreichbar ist. Die Wanderung führt auf dem Schotterweg vorbei an der Granglerhütte (1.320m) bis zur Weggabelung „Ulnhütte“. Hinter der Hütte links, vorbei am tosenden Wasserfall, überquert man die Longa. Nach ca. 200 m links führt ein markierter Wandersteig bis zur bewirtschafteten Tonimörtlhütte. Hat man die Hütte erreicht, geht man erst gerade aus und biegt dann vor dem Wirpitschsee (1.699 m) rechts ab. Nach ca. 150 Höhenmetern erreicht man auf nicht markierten, aber ausgetretenem Almweg den Tiefenbachsee auf 1.846 Meter Seehöhe gelgen.

Schwierigkeit:
mittel
Gehzeit: ca. 2.0 Stunden zum Tiefenbachsee



 
 
Wirpitschsee, Tiefenbachsee (1.699m, 1.846m) – Weißpriachtal
 
 
Noch vor dieser Gabelung überwindet der Weg eine stark verengte Steilstufe, das Lahntörl. Einst war die Stelle von Lawinenabgängen und Steillawinen stark bedroht. Zudem sollte es in der Gegend nicht geheuer sein. Nicht weit davon liegt die untere Frimlalm und auf dem Weg dorthin sind in einem Felsblock mit etwas Phantasie Klauen und die Umrisse eines Gesichtes erkennbar.

Hier soll sich folgendes zugetragen haben: An einem Hl. Abend machte sich der Knecht des Frimlbauern auf den weiten Weg, um aus der Alm den vergessenen Deckel vom Rührkübel zu holen. Im Dialekt heißt es das Riakiwebai. Gerade in der Mittwinterzeit musste aber ein einsamer Wanderer auf unheimliche Begegnungen gefasst sein, denn diese Nächte gehören den Dämonen und Naturgeistern. Der Frimlknecht glaubte freilich nicht an solchen Spuk. Etwas flau im Magen wurde ihm allerdings, als er es von der Felswand herab schreiben hörte: „Pack o, pack o, siechst nit den roathoaratn Mo! Und ebenso schaurig tönte es zurück: I ko eam nit o, er hot sein vieraugatn Beißer voro! Als er ihm am Hüttenzaun festband, um das Riakiwebai herauszuholen, winselte das gute Tier ganz erbärmlich. Wie erschrak aber erst der Knecht, als er zurückkam und zwei Hunde vorfand, die sich aufs Haar glichen. Natürlich band er jenen los, der ihm schön tat und mit dem Schwanz wedelte. Aber es war der falsche. Beim Felsblock empfing ihn ein schwarzes Mandl, legte ihm eine eiskalte Hand mit langen Krallen auf die Schulter und sprach dazu: „Was der heitige Tag mir bringt ei, ghert auf immer und ewig mei!“ Damit begann eine Rauferei auf Leben und Tod und der Knecht wäre verloren gewesen, hätte sich sein braver Vieräugl nicht doch noch losgerissen, um seinem Herrl Beistand zu leisten. Plötzlich war das schwarze Mandl wie ein Spuk verschwunden. Aber wie hatte diese Nacht den Mann verändert! Als er am Morgen in die Stube des Frimlbauern trat, war der junge Knecht ein alter Mann mit grauen Haaren.
 
 
 
Zurück zur Liste
 
 
 
 
 
Jetzt anmelden