+43 6477/8224-0
 
 
 
 

Twenger Almsee (2.120m) – Obertauern Lantschfeld

Subterranean link

From the Twenger Almsee Lake you can look over the wide Twenger Valley, which rises up to the Radstädter Tauern Pass. The ancient Romans once passed through here, maintaining a refuge – known as a mansion – on the pass heights, at the site where today’s visitors can visit the “Cemetery of the Nameless”.
In the Early Middle Ages the pass leading over the Oberhüttensattel Ridge was particularly important, as it presented less risk than others. The intervening mountain range with its’ numerous lakes and pastures rewards travellers with spectacular views in both directions. Just above the mountain ridge at the crossing to Schönalmsee Lake, you can enjoy a unique panorama with views of three lakes. They have also inspired
story collector, Michael Dengg, who heard from old alpine farmers that the Twenger Almsee and Schönalmsee Lakes are connected underground.

The walk begins at the Schaidberg Hostel in Obertauern and leads in the direction of the Ernst Hut (1,869m). The trail is relatively flat until the „Twenger Alm“, where is leads off to the left just before a barn and follows through alpine pastures and two steeper sections before you reach the beautifully situated Twenger Almsee Lake at 2,120 metres above sea level. You can either walk back to Schaidberg along the same path, or walk down to the Grangler Hut via the Weißpriachtal Valley and the Schönalmsee Lake and Wirpitschsee Lake (over the mountain).

Level of difficulty:
moderate
Duration: ca. 2.0 hours from the hostel to Twenger Almsee Lake
 
 
 
Back to list

+43 6477/8224-0
Eggerwirt Journal
 
 
 
 

Twenger Almsee (2.120m) – Obertauern Lantschfeld

Unterirdisch verbunden

Vom Twenger Almsee schaut man über das weite Twenger Tal, das zum Radstädter Tauernpass ansteigt. Schon die alten Römer sind hier durchgezogen und haben auf der Passhöhe, wo man den „Friedhof der Namenlosen“ besuchen kann, eine mansio genannte Herberge unterhalten.
Im frühen Mittelalter wurde der Weg über den Oberhüttensattel bedeutend, der weniger Gefahren birgt. Der dazwischen liegende Gebirgszug mit seinen zahlreichen Seen und Almen beschenkt mit traumhaften Ausblicken in beide Richtungen. Oberhalb der Scharte beim Übergang zum Schönalmsee genießt man ein einzigartiges Panorama mit der Aussicht auf drei Seen. Sie begeisterte auch den Lungauer Sagensammler Michael Dengg, der von alten Almbauern noch die Sage hörte, dass der Twenger Almsee und der Schönalmsee miteinander unterirdisch verbunden sind.

Die Wanderung beginnt bei der Jugendherberge Schaidberg in Obertauern und führt auf dem Weg in Richtung Ernsthütte (1.869m). Weiter geht es recht flach bis in die „Twenger Alm“, wo der Steig kurz vor einem Stall links abzweigt und über sanfte Almböden und zwei steileren Anstiegen zum See führt. In 2.120 m Seehöhe erreicht man den wunderschön gelegenen Twenger Almsee. Sie können wieder zum Schaidberg zurückgehen oder ins Weißpriachtal über den Schönalmsee und den Wirpitschsee zur Granglerhüte absteigen (Bergüberschreitung).

Schwierigkeit: mittel
Gehzeit: ca. 2.0 Stunden ab der Jugendherberge zum Twenger Almsee
 
 
 
Zurück zur Liste
 
 
 
 
 
Jetzt anmelden